The Dr. Richard L. Hall Distinguished Service Award was created in 1995 to honor Dr. Hall, whose career has been marked by exceptional commitment and service to the flavor industry. The award pays tribute to those who have shown outstanding dedication to the advancement of our industry and the Flavor and Extract Manufacturers Association. The award is only intended for those whose contributions meet the highest standards of excellence and distinction. The award will be presented only in those years when a candidate is identified with a record of long and distinguished service.


2024 Honoree


Dr. Jürgen Schnabel

Dr. Jürgen Schnabel

Global Head of Advocacy and Scientific Services, Retired March 31, 2024

During his long and distinguished career, Dr. Jürgen Schnabel worked tirelessly to advocate for sound science in the safety assessment approaches used for flavorings. Jürgen’s exceptional contributions include authoring scientific publications addressing the outcomes of toxicity studies, developing strategies for global harmonization of safety assessment approaches, and communicating on the robustness and rigor of the FEMA Expert Panel’s GRAS evaluations to global regulatory bodies.

Jürgen’s distinguished leadership positions include as the Chair of the IOFI Science Board since its inception in 2006, Chair of the IOFI Regulatory Affairs and Advocacy Committee (RAAC), and member of the IOFI Codex/JECFA Task Force and IOFI/FEMA’s Decision Tree Task Force. Jürgen additionally served on IOFI’s FEMA GRAS Advocacy Task Force and as a member of the International Life Sciences Institute’s (ILSI) Europe Food Intake Methodology and Threshold of Toxicological Concern Task Forces.

Jürgen has a pre-diploma in biology and a diploma in chemistry, served as a Scientific Assistant at Eidgenössisch Technische Hochschule Zurich, and holds a Ph.D. in Natural Science from the Institute of Molecular Biology, Eidgenössisch Technische Hochschule Zurich. Since 2019, he held the position of Global Head of Advocacy and Scientific Services at Givaudan, where he worked for almost 30 years.

Jürgen will be honored at the Annual Leadership Conference (ALC) on April 30 in Isle of Palms, Charleston, SC.


Past Award Winners

  • 2023: Nancy Higley, Ph.D., Regulatory Connections, LLC

  • 2020: Howard Smith, Jr., Virginia Dare

  • 2019: Kevin Renskers, PhD., Takasago International Corporation

  • 2018: Richard Pisano Jr., Citrus and Allied Essences Ltd.

  • 2017: Timothy M. Webster, David Michael & Co., Inc.

  • 2016: Joanne S. Ferrara, ConAgra Foods

  • 2015: Hamed Faridi, Ph.D., McCormick & Co.

  • 2014: Kenneth R. Schrankel, Ph.D., International Flavors & Fragrances Inc.

  • 2013: Peter N. Lombardo, Robertet Flavors, Inc.

  • 2011: Timothy Adams, Ph.D., Verto Solutions

  • 2010: William R. Troy, Ph.D., Firmenich, Inc.

  • 2009: Glenn Roberts, The Roberts Group and John Hallagan, The Law Offices of John B. Hallagan

  • 2008: Fred H. Stults, Ph.D.,Givaudan (USA)

  • 2007: Charles Manley, Ph.D.,Takasago International Corporation (USA)

  • 2006: Richard Pisano, Sr., Citrus and Allied Essences, Ltd.

  • 2005: Daniel E. Stebbins, Symrise, Inc.

  • 2004: James Emerson, Ph.D., and Julia Howell, The Coca-Cola Company

  • 2003: Klaus Bauer, Symrise, Inc.

  • 2001: Fred W. Stone, Ph.D., Firmenich, Inc.

  • 2000: Daniel R. Thompson, The Law Offices of Daniel R. Thompson

  • 1999: Jan Stofberg, Ph.D., PFW Aroma Chemicals

  • 1998: Otho Easterday, Ph.D., International Flavors & Fragrances Inc.

  • 1997: James J. Broderick, Ph.D., H. Kohnstamm & Company

  • 1996: J. Frank Perkins, Ph.D., Firmenich, Inc.

  • 1995: Richard Hall, Ph.D., McCormick & Co.