The FEMA Excellence in Flavor Science Award is not an annual award; rather, it is bestowed only when a deserving individual has demonstrated outstanding dedication to the advancement of flavor science through original research and publication in peer-reviewed journals. In addition, a FEMA Excellence in Science Award winner must be a globally recognized researcher and a highly-acclaimed leader in the field.

Dr. Eric Frérot Science & Research, dsm-firmenich

Past Award Winners

  • 2023: Dr. Eric Frérot, Science & Research, dsm-firmenich

  • 2022: Michael C. Qian, Ph.D., Department of Food Science and Technology, Oregon State University

  • 2021: Keith Cadwallader, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Food Science & Human Nutrition, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

  • 2020: Dr. Peter Winterhalter, Institute of Food ChemistryTechnische Universität Braunschweig

  • 2019: Dr. Holger Zorn, Justus Liebig University, Giessen, Germany

  • 2018: Thomas Hofmann, Ph.D., Leibniz-Institute for Food Systems Biology, Technical University of Munich

  • 2017: Gregory L. Yep, Ph.D., International Flavors & Fragrances, Inc.

  • 2016: Veronika Somoza, Ph.D., University of Vienna

  • 2015: Devin G. Peterson, Ph.D., Flavor Research and Education Center, The University of Minnesota

  • 2014: Wolfgang Meyerhof, Ph.D., German Institute of Human Nutrition Potsdam-Rehbruecke, University of Potsdam

  • 2013: Bob Eilerman, Ph.D., Givaudan | Video

  • 2012: Chi-Tang Ho, Ph.D., Rutgers University | Video

  • 2011: Terry E. Acree, Ph.D., Cornell University | Video

  • 2009: Gary Beauchamp, Ph.D., Monell Chemical Senses Center

  • 2008: Professor Peter Schieberle, Ph.D., Technical University of Munich

  • 2007: Regula Naef, Firmenich, Switzerland

  • 2006: Gary Reineccius, Ph.D., The University of Minnesota