FEMA’s Lifetime Achievement Award is a new recognition opportunity created by the Board of Governors to spotlight individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and service to FEMA and the flavor industry over an extensive career. The award is intended to celebrate professionals who firmly commit to FEMA’s mission stewardship and are highly regarded as role models and mentors to industry colleagues. Nominees may also have been active participants in adjacent industry associations and are considered highly regarded by professional colleagues.

The recipient will be honored at the Annual Leadership Conference (ALC) on April 29-May 1, 2024, in Isle of Palms, Charleston, SC.

Submit a Nomination


Last Year's Honoree


James Heinz

James Heinz

Chairman of the Board
Bell Flavors & Fragrances

In his fifty-year career at Bell Flavors & Fragrances, Jim Heinz has been an instrumental FEMA partner and ally. He began his career at Bell as a Purchasing Agent and has since held numerous leadership positions, also serving on FEMA’s Board of Governors for 12 years and as President from 1995-1996. Known for his passion, hands-on approach, and willingness to work closely with industry colleagues, Jim has been a singular figure within the FEMA community and broader flavor industry.

For the past two decades, he has served as the President and CEO of Bell and currently holds the position of Chairman of the Board. Jim is the second generation of family members for Bell Flavors & Fragrances. His father, Edward Heinz, was a past President of FEMA from 1958-1960 during FEMA GRAS formation.

Jim's unwavering passion for the industry, customers, and employees has driven Bell's success and growth over the years. He is known for his hands-on approach and willingness to work closely with employees at all levels of the organization. Jim is a proud father of Cody and Kelli Heinz, who serve as the third generation of the business as Director of Flavor Sales and Vice President of Marketing & Industry Affairs, respectively.


Past Award Winners

  • 2023: James Heinz, Bell Flavors & Fragrances